Spencer was initially platted after a meeting on March 4, 1820. It consisted of 272 lots on seven blocks north and south, and five blocks east-west, surrounding the courthouse square. The streets were Main, Market, Harrison, Washington, Montgomery, Morgan, Franklin, Jefferson, Wayne, and Clay. It encompassed roughly 78 acres.